Clarington Overview PDF Print E-mail

Clarington, Ontario, Canada, is a municipality east of Toronto with a population of 77,820 people, according to the 2006 Canadian census.

Clarington is part of the larger Durham Region municipality, and it covers a total of 611 square kilometres. From 1974 to 1993, the municipality was known as the Town of Newcastle. However, this name was often confused with the Village of Newcastle (one of the communities that makes up modern day Clarington), so a decision was made in 1993 to change the name to Clarington. The name Clarington was created by combining the names of two small townships in the municipality, Clarke Township and Darlington Township.

Clarington consists of several urban centres, including Bowmanville (the seat of Clarington government), Newcastle, Courtice and Orono. In addition to these larger population clusters, Clarington also encompasses a number of smaller communities.

These communities include:

  • Bond Head
  • Brownsville
  • Burketon
  • Clarke
  • Crooked Creek
  • Enfield
  • Enniskillen
  • Gaud Corners
  • Hampton
  • Haydon
  • Kendal
  • Leskard
  • Maple Grove
  • Mitchell Corners
  • New Park
  • Newtonville
  • Port Darlington
  • Port Granby
  • Salem
  • Solina
  • Starkville
  • Taunton
  • Tyrone
  • West Side Beach
  • Wilmot Creek

While the name Clarington has only been around since 1993, the communities that make up Clarington boast a long history, with settlement of the area dating back to the early nineteenth century.

Today, the community boasts a vibrant, diversified economy, and is one of the fastest growing municipalities in Ontario.

Last Updated ( Monday, 14 December 2009 18:38 )

Copyright © 2018 All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.